The comprehensive full-text database system integrates Bloomberg news, company, and financial data with primary and secondary legal research and business development tools. Provides access to dockets, case law, statutes, financial and corporate information, and news.
Law school access only; registration and password required. For more information see Bloomberg Law Libguide
Congressional Quarterly magazine regarding government, commerce, and politics at the federal level. Covers most acts of Congress providing news and analysis.
To find specific publications select Menu then click on Publications. A list of publications come up including: American Lawyer, National Law Journal, The Recorder, Daily Report, and more.
Comprehensive full-text database system. Provides case law, statutes, regulations, KeyCite, treatises, periodicals, and news.
Law school access only; password required. For more information, see Westlaw Libguide
Journals & Magazines
ABA Journal: Monthly publication for lawyers published by the American Bar Association. Articles on substantive law, practice tips and lifestyle for the practicing lawyer.
Library holdings: Print subscription ending with volume 103 (2016). Online searchable databases here from 1915-present depending on database holdings.
Website features: breaking legal news (updated every business day as it happens), analysis from legal blogs, and stories. https://www.abajournal.com/
Verdict: Legal analysis and commentary from Justia. An online legal news and commentary magazine, covers a broad range of topics, including constitutional law and civil rights, law and economics, family law, consumer protection, political discourse, and speech and religion. Columns are written by noted legal scholars, law professors and commentators.
The American Presidency Project: A collection of documents, statistics, and media based on published collections of presidential documents hosted by University of California Santa Barbara.
Avalon Project: Hosted by Yale Law School, the Avalon Project provides digital documents in law, history, and diplomacy from 4000bce-21st Century
Caselaw Access Project: Official, book-published state and federal US case law from 1658-2020 provided digitized by Harvard Law School.
Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders: An editorial codification prepared by the Office of the Federal Register providing one convenient reference source proclamations and Executive orders with general applicability and continuing effect. This codification covers the period April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989.
Congress.gov: A great source for in-progress bills. You can subscribe to regular updates by RSS and e-mail on Congressional activities and legislation.
Court Listener: A fully-searchable and accessible archive of court data including growing repositories of opinions, oral arguments, judges, judicial financial records, and federal filings.
Federal Register: The daily journal of the US Government. Options available to subscribe for updates to a specific agency's documents or a particular topic by RSS and e-mail.
GovInfo: provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Jurist - Legal News & Commentary: JURIST’s mission is to engage law students with the most important events of their time, giving them an opportunity to document and defend the rule of law while preparing them for success and leadership in later professional and public life.
National Center for State Courts: Addresses current and emerging issues and trends in state court administration. Also includes links to state court websites here.
Open States: Track bills, review upcoming legislation, and see how your local representatives are voting in your state.
Roll Call: The premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation
Blogs
Above the Law: published through Breaking Media, Above the Law takes a behind-the-scenes look at the world of law. The site provides news and insights covering the legal profession, law schools, and current events.
Findlaw Legal Blogs: detailed articles, news updates, and statutes on various legal topics and practice areas.
The NCSL (National Conference of State Legislatures) Blog: This blog offers updates on the National Conference of State Legislatures' research and training, the latest on federalism and the state legislative institution, and posts about state legislators and legislative staff.
SCOTUSblog: SCOTUSblog is devoted to covering the U.S. Supreme Court comprehensively, without bias and according to the highest journalistic and legal ethical standards. The blog generally reports on every merits case before the court at least three times: before argument, after argument and after the decision.
