LibGuides: LUO Law Students: Online Materials

Law Library Databases

The following law library databases are available for Liberty University residential and online use.

Aspen Learning Library This link opens in a new window
The Aspen Learning Library includes the complete collection of titles from the most popular study aids and also offers over 200 videos with coverage of 21 course areas. Each video covering a fundamental legal concept is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner, providing you with additional tools and resources that can be accessed 24/7 to succeed in today’s challenging law school environment.

Law school access only; registration and password required for extended features. For more information see Aspen Libguide
Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary materials such as the Internal Revenue Code as well as editorial research materials, productivity tools, and news related to tax, accounting, finance, and trade.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
Congressional Quarterly magazine regarding government, commerce, and politics at the federal level. Covers most acts of Congress providing news and analysis.
Elgar Advanced Introductions This link opens in a new window
International Law

Clear and succinct introductions to major areas of law from a global and comparative perspective, written by the world’s leading scholars.
ElgarOnline Open Access eBooks This link opens in a new window
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
Current sources of codes and basic legislation in jurisdictions of the world. Provides the researcher with relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations whenever possible, indications of currency of the legal materials listed, and selected references to secondary sources in English.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window
Analytic coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. The encyclopedia articles address the essence, character, development, and history of constitutional law from a global perspective.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. Published in partnership with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law.
NCLC Digital Library (National Consumer Law Center) This link opens in a new window
The complete text of twenty National Consumer Law Center treatises, integrating pleadings, practice tips, and analysis of 50 states’ law. Topics include credit reporting, debt collection, consumer credit, foreclosures, mortgage servicing, and student loans.

Law school access only; registration and password required.
American Bench This link opens in a new window
Directory with biographical information for more than 20,000 judges in all levels of federal, state, and local courts with jurisdictional, structural, and geographical facts on the courts they serve, as provided by federal sources and by the individual states.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600–1926 This link opens in a new window
Provides a collection of legal treatises, historical records, and works from the 17th century to the beginning of the 20th century. Providing broad coverage, the collection enables detailed research on centuries of major events of legal history, from public policy and taxation to contract law, sustainable development concerns, and issues of war and peace.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800–1926 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The collection comprises over 21,000 monographs and materials regarding British Commonwealth and American law, with 14,900 titles from the 19th century and 7,100 titles from 1900-1926. The collection includes casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches. The collection is of interest to scholars and patrons interested in domestic and international law, legal history, business and economics, politics and government, national defense, criminology, religion, education, labor and social welfare, and military justice.
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600–1926 This link opens in a new window
This collection complements the Making of Modern Law treatise collection. Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, this collection comprises thousands of books, pamphlets, transcripts, and other unofficially published accounts of trials.
U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection containing nearly 11 million pages of over 350,000 records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court during the period 1832-1978. Approximately 150,000 U.S. Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
A collection of works from prestigious university presses. Books may be read online. Chapters may be downloaded in PDF.
VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
Full-text business-related research database. Libraries include Antitrust & Trade Regulation, Banking, Corporate Governance, Exchanges & SROs, Federal Energy Guidelines, Government Contracts, Human Resources, International Business, IP/IT, Mergers & Acquisitions, Law Practice, Products Liability & Safety, Securities, and Transportation Law.

JFL Databases

These law specific databases and more can be found through Jerry Falwell Library

American Enterprise Institute : Books, working papers, journal publications, op-eds, video content, and podcasts featuring original research advocating for free enterprise and focusing on the world economy, U.S. foreign policy and international security, and domestic political and social issues
Annual Reviews : Articles synthesizing primary research literature and identifying principal contributions in the fields of anthropology, linguistics, social science, political science, environment, criminology, law, public health, psychology; sociology, organizational behavior, economics, statistics, and more. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Annual Reviews
Border and Migration Studies Online : Text, video, and images related to border and migration issues of key worldwide border areas including U.S. and Mexico, the European Union, Afghanistan, Israel, Turkey, the Congo, Argentina, China, Thailand, and more
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) : Newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, foreign dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources from all world regions, including many rare materials, with a focus on news; law and government information; science, technology, and engineering; and history and economics of agriculture
Cheetah : Extensive collection of legal and tax information covering laws, regulations, cases, IRS materials, news, and treatises
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) : Full-text working papers, policy briefs, current analysis and commentary, scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos covering international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text : Bibliographic records and full-text journal and magazine articles covering criminal justice and criminology. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) : Articles from U.S. and international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs, and other material relevant to criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
Digital National Security Archive : Declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events, including their military, intelligence, diplomatic, and human rights dimensions, from 1945 to the present. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Digital National Security Archive
HeinOnline : Full-text, multidisciplinary scholarly periodicals; government documents; federal, state, and international case law; and more.
For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Law Journal Library (HeinOnline)
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective:1908-1981 (H.W. Wilson) : Index of legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand between 1908 and 1981, covering criminal law, federal law, international law, medical law, and more. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
International Political Science Abstracts : Non-evaluative abstracts of articles, book reviews, and edited works in the field of political science published in journals and yearbooks around the world from 1951 to the present, including method and theory, thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, process, parties, elections, international relations, and foreign policy. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center : Full-text articles, news feeds, reports, books, and summaries covering regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security and risk management options. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
Law360 : Legal news and analysis covering litigation, policy developments, corporate deals, and more (Updated daily). For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Law360
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) : Major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, covering federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) : Journals and periodicals, mostly in full text, pertaining to all branches of the military and government. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
Military Database (ProQuest) : Articles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more related to all government and military branches
NexisUni : News, business, and legal information from local, regional, national, and international newspapers, journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using NexisUni
Political Science Complete : Full-text journals, reference books and conference papers covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
ProQuest Congressional : Congressional documents from 1789 to the present, including Congressional hearings as well as House and Senate publications. For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ProQuest Congressional
Westlaw : Full-text primary and secondary sources for news, business, and legal information, including case law, statutes, regulations, court rulings, legislation, law reviews, bar journals, and more

We're here to help.

Law librarians and library staff are available to help you find your way around the library and its legal materials, provide research support, and assist you in locating materials that are not in our library. There are several ways to contact us:

Visit Us In Person

The main circulation desk is located at the front of the library.

Call Us

Circulation Desk: (434) 592-5350

Email Us

lawcirc@liberty.edu for circulation questions (room reservations, interlibrary loan, etc.)
lawref@libertyedu for research assistance

Open Access

The following websites provide government legal resources online for free.

American Bar Association & Virginia Bar Association
Congress.gov : Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns. Congressional documents from the first 100 years of the U.S. Congress (1774-1875) can be accessed through A Century of Lawmaking.
Court Listener : a free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts. With CourtListener, lawyers, journalists, academics, and the public can research an important case, stay up to date with new opinions as they are filed, or do deep analysis using our raw data.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) : this independent index contains almost 17 500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Findlaw.com : Free, trusted legal information for consumers and legal professionals with easy searches for cases, contracts, and articles
GovInfo : a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO). GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
JSTOR : Open access journals, ebooks, early journal content, images &media, and research reports are available through JSTOR's open content section.
Legal Information Institute (LII) : open source legal collections of: Federal law, the Constitution, U.S. code, C.F.R., the Supreme Court, Federal Rules, State law resources, State statutes, U.C.C., Uniform laws, and World law
National Center for State Courts (NCSC) : This page provides judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level.
Scotusblog : Independent news and analysis on the U.S. Supreme Court
SSRN Legal Scholarship : SSRN provides the opportunity to share different outputs of research such as preliminary or exploratory investigations, book chapters, PhD dissertations, course and teaching materials, presentations, and posters among others.
Supreme Court : Opinions, Filing & Rules, Oral Arguments, Case Documents and more are available through the Supreme Court's website
United States Code : a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
United States Courts : provides a Federal Court Finder allowing users to find courts by location or name.
USA.gov : is the official guide to government information and services.
Whitehouse.gov : contains presidential documents which include proclamations and executive orders.